Stop the Electric Vehicle Tax

Tell the State Liberal Government that we don’t want a new tax on electric vehicles!

The Marshall Liberal Government is proposing a new tax on electric vehicles because these vehicles don’t use fossil fuels and therefore don’t pay the fossil fuel tax.  In other words, it’s a financial penalty for being clean and green.

We all know that electric vehicles powered by renewable energy are the future of transport.  We need to provide incentives, not impose disincentives.

A distance-based road user charge that only applies to electric vehicles is a huge backwards step in our State’s efforts to reduce emissions and address the climate crisis.  It’s a bad new tax that will discourage people from switching to zero-emissions vehicles. Rather than taxing clean technology, we should follow the lead of the ACT where the Greens-Labor Government is offering electric car buyers free registration and $15,000 loans to encourage uptake.

So far, electric vehicles represent less than 1% of sales in South Australia.  We are a long way behind other countries.  In Norway, electric vehicles make up half of all new car sales, whilst in the UK, Prime Minister Boris Johnson has announced a ban on new petrol and diesel cars from 2030.

The Greens will be opposing this new tax, and we need your support.

Sign our petition and add your voice.

Photo: The Driven

Who's signing

Ally Drew
Lee Graham
Jessica Turner
Valentine Gnanakone
Deborah Sykes
Peter Strous
Dave Ashworth
Diane Carter
Pam DiLorenzo
Daniel Macri
Eleanor MacLaren
Brett Aylen
Sahara Furbank-Meyer
Robert Brennan
Jarrah Furbank
Christine Janssen-Dehle
Penny Freeman
Elizabeth Mibus
Margaret Hender
Laura Pieraccini
David Rawson
Kristin Martin
Hayley Randall
Susan Raphael
Susan Greenwood
Kristine Lundberg
Miriam Tonkin
Britany Booth
Sarah Gilfillan
Steph Schwarz

We the undersigned residents of South Australia oppose the Marshall Liberal Government’s new tax on electric vehicles. 

2,000 signatures

Will you sign?