Keeping SA GM-Free


South Australia has banned the cultivation of genetically modified crops across the whole of SA since 2004.

This has been done to preserve South Australia's important GM-Free status for marketing purposes. Global consumer demand for non-GM foods is increasing and South Australia's clean and green image provides SA farmers and businesses with a lucrative marketing and price advantage. 

South Australia remains the only mainland Australian State to remain GM-free. The Greens want to keep SA GM-free.

The current ban (moratorium) on growing genetically modified crops in South Australia was extended in 2017 as a result of a Greens Bill that passed with the support of the then Labor State Government.  

The moratorium is now in law and won't expire until 1st September 2025, unless the SA Parliament votes to get rid of the moratorium.  

However, on 19 August 2019, the Marshall Liberal Government announced it will lift the ban, ignoring the legislation that is in place, and disregarding the Parliamentary Inquiry that is still inquiring into the GM crops moratorium.  This is disgraceful.

The Greens are firm in our commitment to a GM-free SA, and are standing with the people of South Australia, calling on the Marshall Liberal Government to respect the law and keep the ban in place.

Add your voice and sign the petition.

Who's signing

Dean Whittle
Patricia (Trish) Purvis
Pinkie Bennett
Natalie Feil
Liz Bowden
Lena Martin
Georgina Sullivan
Michelle Blake
Sue Fiedler
Liane Iles
Leah Jeffries
Louise Deland
Jacqueline Iles
Robert Rees
Joy Danielson
Janine Clipstone
Jennette Metcalfe
Phil Burton
Michael Pilling
Milan Foll
Maryann Doolette
Julie Board
Jennifer Harness
Daisy Burton
Robin Percy
Gavin Dunn
Kathryn Dutch
Tammy Tree
Jo Edwards
Ian Wright

We, the undersigned residents of South Australia, call on the Marshall Liberal Government to retain the current moratorium on the cultivation of GM crops in SA.

2,000 signatures

Will you sign?